top of page

Other Housing Assistance Programs

Northwestern Ohio Community Action Commission

Northwestern Ohio Community Action Commission, Inc. is proud to be an active partner in the national Community Action Partnership network. The Community Action Partnership is made up of more than 1,100 local, private, non-profit and public agencies that have been working to alleviate poverty and empower low-income families in communities throughout the United States since 1964. The organization was established in 1965 as a private, non-profit social service agency and has been actively serving the citizens of Defiance, Fulton, Henry, Paulding, Van Wert, and Williams counties for over 45 years.

Contact Information:

Defiance County (419) 784-5136  Fulton County (419) 337-8601      Henry County (419) 337-8601           

Paulding County (419) 399-3650  Williams County (419) 636-4924

United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)

USDA provides homeownership opportunities to low- and moderate-income rural Americans through several loan, grant, and loan guarantee programs. The programs also make funding available to individuals to finance vital improvements necessary to make their homes decent, safe, and sanitary. USDA Multi-Family Housing Programs offer Rural Rental Housing Loans to provide affordable multi-family rental housing for very low and low to moderate-income families; the elderly; and persons with disabilities. In addition, rental assistance is available to eligible families.

Findlay Area Office Local Information:
Western Ohio Director:  Chris Spellmire, 7868 C.R. 140, Suite D Findlay, Ohio 45840
Phone: (419) 422-0242; Email:

Area Office on Aging (AOoA)

The Area Office on Aging provides you and your loved ones with the quality services that allow you to be as independent as possible; empowering you to live your life to the fullest.

Ability Center of Greater Toledo (ACT)

The Ability Center of Greater Toledo (ACT) is a non-profit Center for Independent Living (CIL) serving northwest Ohio. With a main campus located in Sylvania, Ohio, and two satellite offices in Bryan and Port Clinton, Ohio, ACT serves seven counties: Defiance, Fulton, Henry, Lucas, Ottawa, Williams and Wood.

Maumee Valley Guidance Center

The Maumee Valley Guidance Center is a community behavioral healthcare center, which offers services such as outpatient therapy, community psychiatric supportive treatment, psychiatric and medication management, and support services for veterans and their families, and much more. There are service locations in Defiance, Bryan, Napoleon and Wauseon. 

additional information

Home Remodeling for People with Special Needs

Federal laws and resources for home remodeling and modifications for people with special needs.

How to Get a Service Dog

According to the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), the definition of a service dog is a canine  that is trained specifically to benefit an individual with a disability. This guide contains helpful information on how to get and train a service animal.

bottom of page